Not signed in

FreshBooks alternatives

FreshBooks prices by how many clients you have, not how much you invoice — and archived ones still count. What that means, and what to use instead.

Three identical paper documents in a row, each tagged in sequence

Most people who search this have hit the same wall, and it is not the price. It is that FreshBooks charges by how many clients you have rather than how much you invoice — and the number is lower than anyone expects.

The cap, and why it surprises people

Checked on 27 August 2026:

PlanPer monthBillable clientsUsers
Lite$2351
Plus$43501
Premium$70Unlimited1

Three things in that table catch people out.

Five clients on the entry plan. Not five invoices — five clients, ever. A freelancer with six regulars is on the $43 plan on their sixth client, whether that client is worth $200 or $20,000.

Archived clients still count. The limit is active and archived combined, so you cannot tidy your way back under it. A designer three years into freelancing has met more than fifty people, and the count only goes one way.

Every plan is single-user. A second person is roughly $11 a month on top, at any tier. Two people invoicing on Plus is around $54.

None of this is hidden — it is on their pricing page — but it is a pricing model based on a number most people have never counted, which is why it arrives as a surprise rather than a decision.

What FreshBooks is genuinely good at

It is a much richer product than a generator, and if you use these, leaving will cost you something real:

  • Time tracking that becomes an invoice. Track hours against a project, then bill them without retyping. For anybody who charges by the hour this is the whole product.
  • Proposals and e-signatures. Quote, get it signed, convert it to an invoice, in one place.
  • Retainers. Genuinely uncommon, and fiddly to run by hand if you bill that way.
  • Automated late-payment reminders and recurring invoices with auto-billing.
  • Double-entry reports and bank reconciliation on Plus and above — it is closer to accounting software than most invoicing tools.

If you bill hourly against tracked time, most of this page is not for you and the honest answer is to pay for the plan that fits your client count.

Will you actually hit the cap? A way to tell

Most people guess wrong in both directions, so count instead. Open your bank statement or your accounts for the last two years and count distinct names that paid you. Not invoices — names.

Distinct clients, lifetimeWhat it means on FreshBooks
Under 5Lite works, and probably always will
5–50Plus at $43, and you will not think about it again
Over 50, still growingPremium at $70, or a tool that does not count
Many one-off jobsThe model is wrong for you — this is the mismatch

The last row is the one to watch. A wedding photographer, a mobile mechanic, a translator taking small commissions — all of them accumulate names fast while invoicing modest amounts, and all of them end up on a plan priced for an agency. A consultant with four retainer clients has the opposite experience and will never understand what the fuss is about. Both are looking at the same pricing page.

What a second person costs

Every plan is single-user, and additional team members are around $11 a month each. Worked through, for two people who both send invoices:

SetupMonthly
FreshBooks Lite + 1 extra user~$34 (and still 5 clients)
FreshBooks Plus + 1 extra user~$54
1001invoice, 2 seats$9 + one seat

This is where small studios notice. The per-seat charge is normal in software and is not a trick — but combined with a client cap it means two variables pushing the same bill up, and neither has anything to do with how much you billed that month.

What the alternatives cost

Same date, each vendor's own page, and none of these counts your clients:

ToolFromClient limitFree tierWatermark free
1001invoice$9/moNone3 invoices/moNo
Invoice Simple$4.99/moNone stated3 invoices/moYes
Invoice Home$6.99/moNone stated$1,000 of invoices/30 daysYes
Zoho InvoiceFree productNone statedFull productNot stated
WaveSeparate paid productNone statedGenerator emails PDF to youNot stated
FreshBooks Lite$23/mo5None

The gap is wide because these are different categories of product, not because anyone is being generous. FreshBooks Lite at $23 includes time tracking and reconciliation; $9 buys a tool that writes and sends invoices and does not pretend otherwise. Compare on what you use, not on the number.

Which to pick

If you...Then
Bill hourly from tracked timeStay, and buy the client tier you need
Send proposals that become invoicesStay — few alternatives do this
Have many clients and few invoices eachLeave. The cap is charging you for a shape it was not designed for
Want free and will accept a watermarkInvoice Simple or Invoice Home
Want free with no watermarkZoho Invoice, or our free tier at 3/month
Need books as well as invoicesSee the accounting comparison

The third row is the common one. Somebody who does small jobs for a lot of people — a photographer, a tradesperson, a translator — hits a client cap fast while invoicing very little money. That is the mismatch worth leaving over.

Before you switch

Continue your invoice numbers. If FreshBooks reached INV-0212, your next invoice elsewhere is INV-0213. Starting again at 001 creates a second document with a number your business already used, and a duplicate is worse than a gap — invoice numbers covers why an auditor cares about both.

Export before you cancel. Invoices, client details and any tracked time. Access usually ends with the subscription, and invoices are records a tax authority may ask for years later.

Check what your unpaid invoices do. If FreshBooks is sending automated reminders on money you are still owed, those stop when you leave. That is a job you are taking back — how to send an invoice has a chase sequence you can run by hand.

The short version

FreshBooks is a good product with a pricing model that fits a particular shape of business: a few clients, billed repeatedly, often by the hour. If that is you, the cap will never bother you and the time tracking is worth the money.

If you have many clients and modest invoices, you are being priced on a number that has nothing to do with what you earn, and almost anything else on this page costs less and counts nothing. The full comparison covers ten tools and what each one's free tier actually runs out of.